Child Sexual Exploitation on the Internet

Support during COVID-19 pandemic

For more information and resources to support you through the COVID crisis, please consult the links below:
Canadian Centre for Child Protection-Resources Supporting You Through COVID-19
RCMP Response to COVID-19

If a child is in immediate danger, call 911 or your local police department.

Report child sexual exploitation


What is Online Child Sexual Exploitation?

Online child sexual exploitation is one of the most disturbing public safety issues facing society today. It continues to harm past and present generations of children in Canada and abroad. Child sexual exploitation online includes:

A Strategy to Combat Online Child Sexual Exploitation (CSE)

Public Safety Canada leads the National Strategy for the Protection of Children from Sexual Exploitation on the Internet (National Strategy), which was created in 2004. Efforts under the National Strategy can be categorized under four broad pillars:

The National Strategy's goals are to:

The Role of Each Strategy Partner

Public Safety Canada coordinates and oversees the implementation of the National Strategy and leads the development of policy and research on online child sexual exploitation.

Public Safety Canada also provides contribution funding to various organizations, including the Canadian Centre for Child Protection to operate Cybertip.ca, where Canadians can report suspected cases of online child sexual exploitation.

The RCMP’s National Child Exploitation Crime Centre (NCECC) is the national law enforcement arm of the National Strategy and serves as the central point of contact for investigations related to the sexual exploitation of children online across the country and internationally, when the victim or offender is Canadian.

The Department of Justice Canada reviews and develops legislation, and provides training, advice and support to federal partners and others.

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection (C3P) is a key partner under the National Strategy. C3P is a charitable organization dedicated to reducing child victimization by providing national programs and services to the public. They are responsible for the operation of Cybertip.ca, where Canadians can report suspected cases of online sexual exploitation of children.

With support from Public Safety Canada, C3P also manages Project Arachnid, an automated web crawler that detects and processes tens of thousands of images per second and sends take down notices to online service providers to remove child sexual abuse material globally.

More information, statistics, and analyses on combatting online child sexual exploitation

What We’re Doing

In August of 2019, The Government of Canada expanded its commitment to combatting child sexual exploitation online through Budget 2019 with an additional $22.24 million over three years to Public Safety Canada to:

Budget 2018 allocated $19 million over five years, and $5.8 million ongoing, for the RCMP’s National Child Exploitation Crime Centre to enhance its investigation capacity.

Budget 2017 invested $6 million over five years, and $1.3 million per year ongoing, for Public Safety Canada through Canada’s Strategy to Prevent and Address Gender-Based Violence, to enhance public awareness; improve policy coordination and research as well as support C3P’s Project Arachnid, which is a tool to help identify and remove child sexual abuse material online.

In 2009, the Government announced $41 million over five years, and $8.1 million ongoing, for the renewal and expansion of the 2004 National Strategy on an ongoing basis.  

In 2007, the Government announced additional funding of $6 million ongoing per year to advance efforts to combat child sexual exploitation and human trafficking. Justice Canada became an official partner of the Strategy, replacing Industry Canada, and received funding to provide training, legal advice, and support to National Strategy partners.

The National Strategy for the Protection of Children from Sexual Exploitation on the Internet was announced in 2004 with funding of $42 million over five years. Funding was allocated to Public Safety Canada, the RCMP, and Industry Canada, to implement the core objectives of the National Strategy.

International Efforts and Cooperation

Canada works closely with international partners to combat online child sexual exploitation. This includes not only the exchange of information regarding new and emerging threats, but also the sharing of best practices and lessons learned in combatting this crime.

Public Safety Canada participates in several international efforts to protect children from online sexual exploitation, including the Five Country Ministerial and its “Countering online child sexual exploitation and abuse: Digital industry roundtable” communiqué issued in London, UK in 2019.

Canada is a member of The WePROTECT Global Alliance to End Child Sexual Exploitation Online (WPGA). The WPGA is an alliance of countries, industry partners, and civil society, who work together to enhance global efforts to combat online child sexual exploitation and abuse. Their efforts focus on developing a comprehensive assessment of the global threat environment, raising awareness, and increasing international cooperation.

Virtual Global Taskforce (VGT) is an international law enforcement alliance that works together, including through operational collaboration and intelligence sharing, to address child sexual exploitation online. The RCMP represents Canada at the VGT.

Voluntary Principles to Counter Online Child Sexual Exploitation and Abuse

On March 5, 2020, Canada welcomed the release of the Voluntary Principles to Counter Child Sexual Exploitation and Abuse. These principles provide a common and consistent framework to combat online sexual crimes against children, as well as drive collective action between governments and industry partners.

International Commitments

The Government of Canada endorses a number of international agreements to protect children from sexual exploitation, including but not limited to:

Other Related Sources

Date modified:

L'exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet

Soutien durant la pandémie de COVID-19

Pour d’autres renseignements et ressources, consultez les liens suivants :
Ressources du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance – Avec vous durant la COVID-19
Mesures prises par la GRC à l’égard de la COVID-19

Si un enfant est en danger immédiat, composez le 911 ou appelez votre service de police.

Signaler l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants


Qu’est-ce que l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet?

L’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet (en ligne) est l’un des problèmes de sécurité publique les plus troublants de notre société d’aujourd’hui. Elle cause du tort aux générations antérieures et actuelles d’enfants au Canada et à l’étranger. Voici des éléments qui en font partie :

Une stratégie de combattre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants en ligne

Sécurité publique Canada est responsable de la Stratégie nationale pour la protection des enfants contre l’exploitation sexuelle sur Internet (Stratégie nationale), qui a été fondée en 2004. Les activités réalisées dans le cadre de cette stratégie se répartissent en quatre catégories :

Objectifs de la Stratégie nationale :

Rôle de chacun des partenaires de la Stratégie

Sécurité publique Canada coordonne et supervise la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie nationale et dirige la recherche et l’élaboration d’une politique de lutte contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet.

Sécurité publique Canada octroie également du financement sous forme de contribution à diverses organisations, dont le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance, qui gère Cyberaide.ca, où les Canadiens peuvent signaler des cas présumés d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet.

Le Centre national de coordination contre l’exploitation d’enfants de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada est l’organisme national d’application de la loi rattaché à la Stratégie nationale. Il sert de point de contact central pour les enquêtes liées à l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet au pays et à l’étranger lorsque la victime ou le contrevenant est canadien.

Le ministère de la Justice du Canada examine et élabore des dispositions législatives et offre de la formation, des conseils et du soutien aux partenaires fédéraux et à d’autres intervenants.

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) est un partenaire clé dans le cadre de la Stratégie nationale. Il gère Cyberaide.ca, où les Canadiens peuvent signalés des cas présumés d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet.

Avec l’appui de Sécurité publique Canada, le Centre de protection de l’enfance gère également le Projet Arachnid, un robot Web qui détecte et traite des dizaines de milliers d’images par seconde et envoie des avis de retrait de matériel d’abus pédosexuels aux fournisseurs de services web  à l’échelle mondiale.

Plus d’informations, statistiques, et analyses sur la lutte contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet

Ce que nous faisons

En août 2019, le gouvernement du Canada a augmenté son engagement dans la lutte contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet dans le cadre du budget 2019 avec 22,24 millions de dollars sur trois ans à Sécurité publique Canada pour :

Le budget 2018 avait prévu 19 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, et 5,8 millions de dollars par année par la suite, pour le Centre national de coordination contre l’exploitation d’enfants de la GRC, pour améliorer la capacité d’enquête du Centre national contre l’exploitation des enfants de la GRC.

Le budget 2017 avait prévu 6 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, et 1,3 million de dollars par année par la suite, pour Sécurité publique Canada, via la Stratégie du Canada pour prévenir et contrer la violence fondée sur le sexe, afin de sensibiliser le public, d’améliorer la coordination des politiques et la recherche, et de soutenir le projet Arachnid du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance, qui est un outil permettant de repérer et de retirer le matériel d’abus pédosexuels en ligne.

En 2009, le gouvernement a annoncé 41 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, et 8,1 million de dollar par année par la suite, pour le renouvellement et l’élargissement de façon permanente de la portée de la Stratégie nationale de 2004.

En 2007, le gouvernement a annoncé 6 millions de dollars supplémentaires par année pour faire avancer les efforts de lutte contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants et la traite des personnes. Justice Canada est devenu un partenaire officiel de la Stratégie, remplaçant Industrie Canada et a reçu des fonds pour fournir une formation, des conseils juridiques et un soutien aux partenaires de la Stratégie nationale.

La Stratégie nationale pour la protection des enfants contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet a été annoncée en 2004 avec un financement de 42 millions de dollars sur cinq ans. Des fonds ont été alloués à Sécurité publique Canada, à la GRC et à Industrie Canada afin qu’ils mettent en œuvre les objectifs clés de la Stratégie nationale.

Initiatives internationales et collaboration

Le gouvernement du Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec ses partenaires internationaux à la lutte contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet. Cette collaboration consiste non seulement à échanger de l’information sur les menaces nouvelles et émergentes, mais aussi à mettre en commun les leçons apprises et les meilleures pratiques en matière de lutte contre ce crime.

Sécurité publique Canada participe à plusieurs initiatives internationales de protection des enfants contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet, notamment la réunion ministérielle des cinq pays et son communiqué suite à la table ronde de l’industrie numérique suite à la rencontre à Londres (R.-U.) en 2019.

Le Canada est membre de la WePROTECT Global Alliance to End Child Sexual Exploitation Online (WPGA). La WPGA est une alliance de pays, de membres de l’industrie et de la société civile, qui travaillent ensemble à améliorer les efforts mondiaux de lutte contre l’exploitation et l’abus sexuels des enfants en ligne. Les efforts sont axés sur l’élaboration d’une évaluation exhaustive de l’environnement mondial de la menace ainsi que sur la sensibilisation et l’accroissement de la coopération internationale.

Virtual Global Taskforce est une alliance internationale d’organismes d’application de la loi qui travaille dans un contexte de collaboration opérationnelle et d’échange de renseignements pour lutter contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants en ligne. La GRC y représente le Canada.

Principes volontaires pour contrer l’exploitation et l’abus sexuels des enfants en ligne

Le 5 mars 2020, le gouvernement a accueilli favorablement la publication des Principes volontaires pour contrer l'exploitation et l'abus sexuels des enfants en ligne. Ces principes fournissent un cadre commun et cohérent pour lutter contre les crimes sexuels en ligne à l’endroit d’enfants, ainsi que favoriser une intervention collective de la part des gouvernements et des partenaires du milieu.

Engagements internationaux

Le gouvernement du Canada appuie un certain nombre d’accords internationaux visant à protéger les enfants contre l’exploitation sexuelle.

Autres ressources connexes



Date de modification :